Welcome to HPNP2021 Online

The 5th International Workshop on "Higgs as a Probe of New Physics" Special Edition 2021 (HPNP2021) will be hosted by Osaka University. The workshop will be held online in 25-27 March 2021.

By the discovery of a Higgs boson in 2012, the standard model was confirmed to give a good description for most of the phenomena below the electroweak scale. In spite of the success of the standard model, the nature of the Higgs sector and the dynamics behind the electroweak symmetry breaking are still mystery. On the other hand, there are phenomena which cannot be explained in the standard model, such as neutrino oscillation, existence of dark matter, baryon asymmetry of the Universe and cosmic inflation. It is clear that the new physics beyond the standard model is necessary.

The LHC has been revealing physics at the terascale and will be upgraded to the High-Luminosity LHC. Meanwhile, SuperKEKB will explore well beyond the terascale via heavy flavor decays. The Laser Interferometer Space Antenna (LISA), aimed at detecting gravitational waves from the early Universe, has been approved. The synergy of these upcoming experiments as well as future lepton colliders such as ILC, FCCee, CEPC and CLIC, and also various cosmological observations will bring us insights into the nature of new physics. Therefore, it is a good time to discuss the physics role of the Higgs sector and its relation to the physics beyond the standard model.

The aim of HPNP2021 is to bring together Higgs related physicists from around the world to mainly discuss the following topics:

  • Determination of the Shape of the Higgs Sector from Experiments
  • Physics of Extended Higgs Sectors
  • New Paradigms and Higgs Physics (SUSY, Composite Higgs, Scale Invariance, Extra Dim, ...)
  • Dynamics behind Electroweak Symmetry Breaking
  • Higgs Physics and Flavor Physics/Neutrinos Physics/Dark Matter/Baryogenesis
  • Electroweak Phase Transition and Higgs Physics
  • Higgs Inflation, other Cosmological Implications
  • Higgs and Planck Scale Physics

News: Best Poster Award

The poster jury of HPNP2021 selected

  • Ms. Motoko Fujiwara (Nagoya University)

as Best Poster Award, and

  • Mr. Jasper Roosmale Nepveu (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)

as Best Poster - Honorable Mention.

All student posters were judged by the poster jury:
Prof. Howard E. Haber (Chair), Prof. Fawzi Boudjema, Prof. Tao Han, Prof. George Wei-Shu Hou and Prof. Michael E. Peskin.

From the left, Prof. Howard Haber, Ms. Motoko Fujiwara and Prof. Shinya Kanemura.

From the left, Prof. Howard Haber, Mr. Jasper Roosmale Nepveu and Prof. Shinya Kanemura.

Important Dates

  • 29. January 2021: Deadline for Abstract Submission
  • 13. March 2021: Deadline for Registration

Online Instruction

See the general instructions to speakers, audiences and chairpersons from here.

Invited Speakers

Jose R. Espinosa (IFT, Autonomous U. of Madrid / CSIC)
Stefania Gori (UC, Santa Cruz)
Howard E. Haber (UC, Santa Cruz)
Tao Han (U. of Pittsburgh)
Hong-Jian He (T.D. Lee Institute, Shanghai Jiao Tong U.)
Sven Heinemeyer (IFT, Autonomous U. of Madrid / IFCA, U. of Cantabria)
Yutaka Hosotani (Osaka U.)
George Wei-Shu Hou (National Taiwan U.)
Thomas Konstandin (DESY)
Ian Low (Argonne National Laboratory / Northwestern U.)
Shigeki Matsumoto (Kavli IPMU)
Hitoshi Murayama (UC, Berkeley / Kavli IPMU)
Michael E. Peskin (SLAC)
Apostolos Pilaftsis (U. of Manchester)
Michael J. Ramsey-Musolf (T.D. Lee Institute, SJTU / Massachusetts U., Amherst)
Rui Santos (ISEL / CFTC-UL)
Michael Spannowsky (Durham U.)
Michael Spira (PSI)
more to be added.

International Advisory Committee

Fawzi Boudjema (Annecy, LAPTH) Qing-Hong Cao (Peking U.)
Cheng-Wei Chiang (National Taiwan U.) Christophe Grojean (DESY)
Howard E. Haber (UC Santa Cruz) Junji Hisano (KMI, Nagoya U.)
Yutaka Hosotani (Osaka U.) Pyungwon Ko (KIAS)
Stefano Moretti (U. of Southampton) Mihoko Nojiri (KEK / Kavli IPMU)
Yasuhiro Okada (KEK) Michael E. Peskin (SLAC)

Local Organizing Committee

Mayumi Aoki (Kanazawa U.) Mitsuru Kakizaki (U. of Toyama)
Chair: Shinya Kanemura (Osaka U.) Kin-ya Oda (Osaka U.)
Tetsuo Shindou (Kogakuin U.) Hiroaki Sugiyama (Toyama Pref. U.)
Koji Tsumura (Kyushu U.) Kei Yagyu (Osaka U.)


Shinya Kanemura (Chair):
E-mail: kanemu_at_het.phys.sci.osaka-u.ac.jp
Satomi Suzuki (Secretary):
E-mail: s-suzuki_at_het.phys.sci.osaka-u.ac.jp
(Please replace _at_ with @)


  • Osaka University
  • Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)